NOW PLAYING ONLINE:
home | staff | movies | z-mail | events
[logo] Movies.com Top 10 Box Office   more  xml  hide  
last updated: Sat, 30 Aug 2014 13:45:24 GMT

 1. Guardians of the Galaxy - $17.2M Tue, 26 Aug 2014 08:00:00 GMT
A group of interstellar outlaws team up to save the galaxy from a villain who seeks ultimate power in this comic book space adventure from Marvel Studios and director James Gunn (Slither, Super). Peter Quill was just a young boy when, devastated by his mother's death, he sprinted out of the hospital and was swept into the stars by Yondu (Michael Rooker), the leader of an eclectic band of space scavengers known as The Ravagers. Twenty-six years later, Quill has adopted the nickname Star Lord (Chris Pratt). He's broken away from The Ravagers in an attempt to track down an ancient orb that is also coveted by the evil Ronan (Lee Pace), who is in league with the dreaded Thanos, and who dispatches his top assassin Gamora (Zoe Saldana) to retrieve it from Star Lord. In the process of doing so, Gamora also gets drawn into a fight with furry bounty hunter Rocket (voice of Bradley Cooper) and his tree-like, humanoid companion Groot (voice of Vin Diesel). Subsequently thrown into prison, this unlikely quartet quickly makes the acquaintance of fearsome warrior Drax the Destroyer (Dave Bautista), who seeks bitter revenge for the slaughter of his entire family at the hands of Ronan. In the process of making a daring prison break, Star Lord, Gamora, Rocket, Groot, and Drax recover the orb, and transport it to The Collector (Benecio Del Toro), who reveals that it houses an Infinity Gem - one of six precious stones that harbors incredible powers that could pose a dire threat should they fall into the wrong hands. Later, Ronan acquires the Infinity Gem and plots to use its power to destroy The Nova Corps home-world of Xandar, The Guardians of the Galaxy must race through the stars to recover it before Ronan can carry out his genocidal plan. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

 2. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (2014) - $16.73M Tue, 26 Aug 2014 08:00:00 GMT
Paramount Pictures and Michael Bay present this reboot of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles franchise with Wrath of the Titans' helmer Jonathan Liebesman directing. Megan Fox stars as ace reporter, April O'Neil.
 3. If I Stay - $15.68M Tue, 26 Aug 2014 08:00:00 GMT
Chloe Moretz stars as comatose teen who has an out-of-body experience following a car accident that kills her entire family in this MGM/Summit Entertainment co-production directed by R.J. Cutler, and adapted from the book by Gayle Forman. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi
 4. Let's Be Cops - $10.81M Tue, 26 Aug 2014 08:00:00 GMT
It's the ultimate buddy cop movie except for one thing: they're not cops. When two struggling pals dress as police officers for a costume party, they become neighborhood sensations. But when these newly-minted “heroes” get tangled in a real life web of mobsters and dirty detectives, they must put their fake badges on the line.
 5. When the Game Stands Tall - $8.38M Tue, 26 Aug 2014 08:00:00 GMT
[[Performer~P11903~James Caviezel~jamescaviezel]], [[Performer~P18704~Laura Dern~lauradern]], and [[Performer~P12826~Michael Chiklis~michaelchiklis]] star in this emotionally charged sports drama inspired by the true story of celebrated football coach Bob Ladouceur ([[Performer~P11903~Caviezel~jamescaviezel]]), and the personal trials he endured while leading the De La Salle High School Spartans on an unprecedented 151-game winning streak. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi
 6. The Expendables 3 - $6.49M Tue, 26 Aug 2014 08:00:00 GMT
Barney (Stallone), Christmas (Statham) and the rest of the team comes face-to-face with Conrad Stonebanks (Gibson), who years ago co-founded The Expendables with Barney. Stonebanks subsequently became a ruthless arms trader and someone who Barney was forced to kill... or so he thought. Stonebanks, who eluded death once before, now is making it his mission to end The Expendables -- but Barney has other plans. Barney decides that he has to fight old blood with new blood, and brings in a new era of Expendables team members, recruiting individuals who are younger, faster and more tech-savvy. The latest mission becomes a clash of classic old-school style versus high-tech expertise in the Expendables' most personal battle yet.
 7. The Giver - $6.43M Tue, 26 Aug 2014 08:00:00 GMT
A young man living in a future where complacency is valued above all else discovers the sinister secrets that hold his fragile society together after being selected to become the Receiver of Memory in this adaptation of author [[Performer~P753224~Lois Lowry~loislowry]]'s Newbery Medal-winning young-adult novel. Jonas ([[Performer~P733812~Brenton Thwaites~brentonthwaites]]) was raised to believe that conformity is the key to contentment. The society Jonas lives in is a peaceful one, in large part because their collective memories have been entrusted to the Giver ([[Performer~P3197~Jeff Bridges~jeffbridges]]). A mysterious yet seemingly benevolent figure, the Giver is the sole guardian of the community's dark and hidden history. When that history is revealed to Jonas over the course of his illuminating sessions with the Giver, the young man learns that the wisdom he now holds could dictate the fate of the entire society. Later, as the weight of that responsibility becomes too great a burden for Jonas to bear, he realizes that his only hope of saving the ones he loves most is to flee. Unfortunately for Jonas and perhaps his entire world, every previous attempt to escape has ended in failure. [[Performer~P68676~Meryl Streep~merylstreep]], [[Performer~P153013~Alexander Skarsgård~alexanderskarsgård]], and [[Performer~P225994~Katie Holmes~katieholmes]] star in a film from director [[Performer~P104729~Phillip Noyce~phillipnoyce]] ([[Feature~V262133~Rabbit-Proof Fence~rabbitprooffence]], [[Feature~V272707~The Quiet American~thequietamerican]]). ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi
 8. Frank Miller's Sin City: A Dame to Kill For - $6.32M Tue, 26 Aug 2014 08:00:00 GMT
[[Performer~P151002~Robert Rodriguez~robertrodriguez]] teams with [[Performer~P223744~Frank MIller~frankmiller]] to direct this follow-up to [[Feature~V303869~Sin City~sincity]] from a script by [[Performer~P223744~Miller~frankmiller]] and [[Performer~P371443~William Monahan~williammonahan]] based on preexisting stories along with new ones written for the big screen. [[Performer~P8657~Josh Brolin~joshbrolin]] stars in the adaptation of the comic miniseries (Sin City: A Dame to Kill For), which tells the backstory of [[Performer~P54491~Clive Owen~cliveowen]]'s Dwight character as he is wrapped up in the thralls of femme fatale, Ava ([[Performer~P376643~Eva Green~evagreen]]). Also new to the series is [[Performer~P27836~Joseph Gordon-Levitt~josephgordonlevitt]], who plays Johnny, a mysterious gambler set on taking down his sworn enemy in a high-stakes game of life and death. [[Performer~P61810~Mickey Rourke~mickeyrourke]], [[Performer~P199028~Rosario Dawson~rosariodawson]], [[Performer~P268078~Jessica Alba~jessicaalba]], and [[Performer~P292250~Jaime King~jaimeking]] return for the Dimension Films release, with [[Performer~P551027~Jamie Chung~jamiechung]] and [[Performer~P31307~Dennis Haysbert~dennishaysbert]] stepping into roles left by [[Performer~P360230~Devon Aoki~devonaoki]] and the late [[Performer~P240637~Michael Clarke Duncan~michaelclarkeduncan]]. ~ Jeremy Wheeler, Rovi
 9. The Hundred-Foot Journey - $5.34M Tue, 26 Aug 2014 08:00:00 GMT
An Indian teen in France goes to work for his father's culinary adversary in this drama based on the bestselling novel by Richard C. Morais. Put young Hassan Kadam (Manish Dayal) in a kitchen, and he's bound to emerge with a dish that will dazzle. When Hassan's family is forced to move from their native India, his Papa (Om Puri) relocates to a peaceful hamlet in Saint-Antonin-Noble-Val in the south of France. Determined to give his new neighbors a little taste of home, Papa decides to open an Indian restaurant in the village, and names it Maison Mumbai. Meanwhile, across the street at the traditional French restaurant Le Saule Pleureu, uptight proprietor Madame Mallory (Helen Mirren) doesn't exactly welcome the competition. When Madame Mallory ignites a bitter feud that quickly escalates, the only hope for a peaceful resolution lies in Hassan's talent for French haute cuisine, and his growing affections for Mme. Mallory's pretty young sous chef Marguerite (Charlotte Le Bon). Subsequently impressed by Hassan's undeniable culinary talents, Mme. Mallory agrees to become Hassan's mentor, in the process providing the perfect creative environment where his unique fusion cuisine can thrive. Lasse Hallström directs a film produced by Steven Spielberg, Oprah Winfrey, and Juliet Blake. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi
 10. Into the Storm - $3.8M Tue, 26 Aug 2014 08:00:00 GMT
Fearless storm-chasers brave impossible odds in their quest to collect data on an unprecedented super-storm that unleashes multiple tornados on a small town as the terrified locals race for shelter. Richard Armitage (The Hobbit trilogy), Sarah Wayne Callies (The Walking Dead), and Matt Walsh star in this tense tale of Mother Nature's fury. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

powered by zFeeder
home | staff | music news | movies | z-mail | sponsors | advertising
FCC EEO Public File Report | Employment Opportunities at Our Stations